FSFA Cup 2014
FootySimulator - FSFA Cup 2014
  • The FootySimulator FA Cup 2014 is a virtual tournament run on a knockout basis. Features of the tournament are as follows :
  • Pure knockout format. All fixtures are played on a best of 1 basis. A team is eliminated from the competition by a single defeat.

  • Traditional FA Cup rules. Matches last 90 minutes and take place on the ground of the team drawn first. If a game ends in a draw, a replay takes place on the ground of the team drawn second. If the scores in the replay are level, 30 minutes extra time is played. If the scores are still level, a second replay takes place on a neutral ground. Extra time will be played if necessary. If scores are still level after this, a third replay will be played on a neutral ground. And so on until a winner is determined. Semi finals and final will take place on a neutral ground and will go into extra time in the first match.

  • Seedings. There are 16 seeded teams. These teams are exempt until Round 3. 32 more teams are exempt until round 2. Teams ranked 49-132 enter the competition in Round 1. Two preliminary rounds take place for teams ranked outside the top 132 or for teams who are unranked. Winners of these preliminary matches qualify for Round 1.

  • Open Draw. Any team may draw any other team regardless of seeding, geographical location or political issues.

  • The teams. FSFA Cup 2014 comprises a record 264 teams. These include all the 214 teams that are affiliated to FIFA or a FIFA-recognized confederation. There are also 50 teams that have competed in non-FIFA competitions such as the Island Games, and the CONIFA World Cup.

  • The Format. Round 3 consists of 64 teams and from this point the competition is a straight knock-out. The 16 seeded teams are joined by the winners of the 48 Round 2 ties. The 96 teams in Round 2, consist of 32 exempt teams plus the winners of the 64 Round 1 ties. Round 1 includes 84 exempt teams plus 44 winners from the 2nd Preliminary Round ties. The 2nd Preliminary Round consists of 44 exempt teams plus the winners of the 44 1st Preliminary Round ties.

Changes for 2014

  • This is the first year that all teams have had separate home and away ratings. There are a few teams that do not have a home rating as they have not played a competitive home match. Consequently these teams will forfeit home advantage and play their matches at a neutral venue. Additionally there are a couple of teams that have only played in tournaments and have, bizarrely, never played an away match. These teams will also play at neutral venues if drawn away. If such a team drew its match, the replay would automatically take place at a neutral venue too.

  • Due to a database purge, some teams that have appeared in previous FSFA Cup competitions will not appear in 2014. Teams such as Sint-Maarten and Niue have not played for so long that their rankings have expired. Also there are a handful of teams such as Kosovo that had putative rankings that were not based on actual results. We'll be looking to restore these teams in future. However the teams that are missing are more than compensated for by a bunch of new teams from the CONIFA Cup and the Micronesia games who will be competing for the first time.